Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Can strings change frequency or stop vibrating?

1. Apr 6, 2005 #1
    Hello everyone,

I'm a undergraduate student in the field of physics. I'm working toward a BS in Physics from University of North Carolina at Wilmington.

I've been thinking about string modes of resonance lately and wonder if the theory allows strings to stop vibrating or change resonance frequency.

If so, this could explain 'virtual particle' clouds. Imagine:

A string that is not vibrating could not be detected by modern equipment. However, if that string suddenly started vibrating at the frequency of a photon, then it would seem to us the photon magically popped into existance from nowhere.

Thanks in advance for your thoughts and responses! Especially those that include math.
  2. jcsd
  3. Apr 6, 2005 #2
    It may be that the only thing keeping the string from collapsing into thin space is that it vibrates so that there is some energy to sustain it.

What if a string approaches the event horizon of a black hole? Wouldn't the frequency slow down as time dialates?
  4. Apr 6, 2005 #3

Staff Emeritus
    Gold Member
    Dearly Missed

Time doesn't dilate for an object falling near the event horizon, only for a far-awy observer watching that fall.

Someone deeper in string theory than I am can correct me, but I believe the frequency modes of a string depend on its momentum, which can vary.
  5. Apr 6, 2005 #4
    I wonder then if there is a 'rest' mode of resonance or modes that cannot be detected by our current technology as particles. Could still work... if strings can change frequency. :smile:

A similar theory was discussed by Brian Greene in 'The Elegant Universe'. It pertained to the Big Crunch and says that our time is cyclic because of string reaction to being compressed under high gravity.
  6. Apr 6, 2005 #5