Understanding the Randomness of Quantum Processes and the Arrow of Time

• Thread starter ejproducts
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Random
In summary, the conversation discusses the concepts of time reversal and objective randomness in the context of quantum physics. It is mentioned that the laws of physics do not have a preference for the direction of time, but this only holds for microscopic dynamics. The question of whether a process with a random outcome is the same under time reversal is raised, and it is explained that this is the case for microscopic processes. It is also noted that quantum states only express probabilistic information about a system, and that probabilistic reasoning can be applied to both past and future events. The conversation ends with a question about whether there is a sequence that, when run forwards, is deterministic but when run in reverse, is not.
ejproducts
I am not a physics student - I am a science fiction writer. But an idea is puzzling me, and I will attempt to convey it. However, I apologise if my terminology or an incorrect understanding of things makes my question unclear.

Firstly, I am under the impression that the laws of physics do not care which way the arrow of time is going - they make sense either way. We set the arrow of time when we use equations, but in theory it would not matter if we set it forwards or backwards. In other words, it is my understanding that there is no basic process that is not the same forwards as backwards.

Secondly, I am under the impression that some quantum processes have an objectively random outcome (sometimes I hear this called a stochastic process). It is not that we do not know enough information about the situation to predict the outcome, but that until the outcome occurs only the probability of the outcome is determined - whether by us or by LaPlace's demon.