Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Can your employer own the rights to unrelated products you develop on your own time?

1. Aug 16, 2011 #1
    This is a clause from one of the required learning courses at my new employer:

I'm no lawyer, but this just seems wrong. I have a few ideas in my head - some inventions I would like to try - that pertain to improvements on modern wheelchairs. Totally unrelated. How in the world would my employer own the rights to this if I develop the idea further?

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 16, 2011 #2

Ivan Seeking

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Re: Can your employer own the rights to unrelated products you develop on your own ti

"to the extent permitted by law"

If something should ever happen you can always challenge any claims in court. But it is pretty much standard practice for employers to claim ownership of anything an employee does while in their employ. I think this is done mainly as a default to limit challenges where ownership may not be clear.

However, if you use any information or equipment - the physical or intellectual property of the employer - or time that was on their clock, they would probably have a legitimate claim of ownership.

4. Aug 16, 2011 #3

Ryan_m_b

Staff: Mentor

Re: Can your employer own the rights to unrelated products you develop on your own ti

Depends where you work. Many universities here in the UK have a clause in their contract that basically says anything you discover with your field is their IP. The only way you can retain it is if you can prove in a court of law that the product/discovery/IP was developed entirely independently from anything going on at the university. This can be a very tricky thing because the university can always argue that if it wasn't for them you wouldn't be in the field.