Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Canonical variables

1. Jun 4, 2009 #1
    what are canonical variables..??
    I'm a normal +2 student finished my intermediate college ..I just don't know about quantum physics..i understood that to understand better quantum physics i need to know about "canonical variables" ..

in hydrogen atom , consider 1st shell (ie n=1) the electron revolving around the nucleus have some angular momentum..but according to quantum theory, for n=1 , azimuthal quantum number or angular quantum number "l"=0 .. so is the electron revolving around the nucleus in a H atom doesn't have any angular momentum..?
    what are these quantum numbers..??? I really don't have a better understanding about them..I have just finished my classical physics and am not able to "take " or "digest" quantum theory any better...I would feel really ecstatic if anyone helps me out with this "quantum theory"...

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 4, 2009 #2

Andy Resnick

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

"canonical" variables, in the sense that I am used to (Hamiltonian mechanics), essentially mean generalized variables. For example, instead of defining the position of a particle in terms of (x,y,z) coordinates, we can use the canonical position q_i, where i = 1,2,3. In Hamiltonian formulations of mechanics, the (canonical) position and (canonical) momentum variables are 'conjugate' to each other, where 'conjugate' implies specific relationships between the two (Poisson brackets, or Dirac brackets)

4. Jun 4, 2009 #3
    what is "hamiltonian mechanics"? can you give me a brief but clear cut idea about it?

5. Jun 4, 2009 #4

Andy Resnick

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award