1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Career Guidance

1. Feb 28, 2006 #1
    Hi, I'm currently working as a software engineer, I have a BS degree in computer science and I've been working in the field for about 10 years. I have a lot of experience and am quite good in most areas of software development. The problem is that I'm getting really bored with my career and want to do something more scientific. I've been teaching myself physics through a couple text books that I got and I'm currently loving physics and thinking about going back to school to get a BS in physics (probably at umw.edu).

My question is, what kind of jobs could I get with a BS only in physics and would it help having that and a BS in CS? The problem is that I can't really go for something entry level, I have a wife and kids and I'm the only one who works, so I would need to get a position where I could make 100k+ because I can't really afford to get paid much less than I do now. Does anyone have any advice? Should I just give up this dream because it's unrealistic and stick to my current career and just stay bored?
  2. jcsd
  3. Feb 28, 2006 #2
    I don't think 100k is realistic for a "first timer" if you know what I mean. I'm not saying that it is impossible, but that is a LOT of money, but I guess it depends where you live, too. If you are making 100k as a software engineer, I would stick with it. I know doctor's of CS who make a lot less than that.
  4. Feb 28, 2006 #3
    yea location makes a huge difference, I live in DC where a small town house costs 700k
  5. Feb 28, 2006 #4