1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Career Options

1. Jan 13, 2010 #1
    Hi,

What industry do you think has the most opportunities and is growing at a faster rate in Canada and/or the US? Optics/photonics or robotics/mechatronics?

I am currently in my third year in a physics program and I'm trying to choose between the two career paths. I can take a bunch of engineering physics optics courses to add to my transcript, and then likely go on to a masters degree in engineering physics specializing in optics/photonics, OR I can take a bunch of mechancical engineering courses(robotics, mechatronics, MEMS, control systems) and a few analogue an digital electronics course(which I'd be taking ether way), and the go on to a masters degree in mechanical engineering specializing in robotics.

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 16, 2010 #2
    I'm not appropriately qualified to correctly answer your question, but i'll contribute with some general advice anyway:

I imagine there will always be numerous opportunities available to someone that has skills such as those. It depends what you want to do: completing both of those courses will open up any physical science graduate training programme, for instance. If you're set on research, however, then you should consider that photonics and mechatronics are very different and try to have a think about what you can see yourself working in.