1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Studying Catching up

1. Jul 21, 2016 #1
    Hello everyone,

I've never used PF before, so I'm not exactly sure I'm posting in the right place. Anyway, here's what's going on : I'm currently preparing a Master's in neurobiology. I stopped studying sciences (i.e., physics, chemistry, maths) in high school, but somehow managed to catch up in biology and statistics enough to get accepted in neurobio.
    Basically, I'm asking for advice about books, articles, subjects, anything to study to catch in those subjects. I'd really like to read more about cosmology, for example, but I need this basic scientific background to do so.
    I hope some of you will be able to help me. Thanks for your attention !

M

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 21, 2016 #2

micromass

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

Why? For your degree? Or for fun? I doubt cosmology is needed for neurobiology.

And what is the last math course you took? Physics course? Chemistry course?

4. Jul 21, 2016 #3

symbolipoint

Homework Helper
    Education Advisor
    Gold Member

You must already have an undergraduate degree if you are preparing for a Master's degree program in Neurobiology. You had to have studied some necessary qualifying sciences already.

5. Jul 21, 2016 #4
    I don't need it for my degree, it's just general knowledge I'd like to have. I did mostly arts in high-school, and psychology (we all make poor choices sometimes) and neurosciences for my undergrad, so I'm proficient in biology but not in physics or maths, for example.
    The last courses I took were really basics during my first year of high school, that's why I'd like to catch up from there.

6. Jul 21, 2016 #5

Student100

Education Advisor
    Gold Member