Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Ceiling Fan motor operation

1. Nov 24, 2014 #1
    My husband asked a question earlier this evening, which has given me pause. I've looked everywhere I can think of and came across this forum. Maybe someone here knows the answer.

Why do ceiling fans (and similar residential/box style fans) go from the off position to the highest possible speed setting before moving to slower speed settings?

As an electrical engineer, I just couldn't come up with a response that was satisfactory to me.

My postulation is that it has to do with the startup of the motor to begin with. Since the motor will overshoot upon startup anyway, it seemed logical to have the highest speed setting come first before slowing the motor to lower settings.

Thoughts?

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 24, 2014 #2

RonL

Gold Member

I'm not an electrical engineer, but a quick guess might have to do with power through switches in a fashion that least likely will cause arc burn to the contacts.
    A mentor might move this thread to the EE forum for a better chance of getting the right answer:)

Welcome to PF:)

4. Nov 24, 2014 #3

Danger

Gold Member

I'm not familiar with the concept. I don't have a fan in my house. When I lived with the ex- in a 4-plex, we had one installed in the kitchen. As with any others that I've seen, there were 3 bead chains hanging from it. One turned the light on or off. The other two toggled between high and low speed, depending upon which one was in the "pulled" position. The instructions specified, however, that we had to shut off the mains at the wall switch before changing speeds.

5. Nov 24, 2014 #4

RonL

Gold Member

I suspect that had to do with changing direction of rotation.

6. Nov 24, 2014 #5

Evo

Staff: Mentor