1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Centre of mass integrals

1. Dec 31, 2005 #1

I appreciate that we can calculate the x-coordinate of the centre of mass of a system of bodies like this:

[tex]x = (m_{1}x_{1} + m_{2}x_{2} + m_{3}x_{3} + ... + m_{n}x_{n}) / M[/tex]

where M is the total mass.

This could be rewritten as

[tex] x = \frac {1} {M} \sum_{i=1}^n m_{i}x_{i} [/tex]

My next step would be to say that

[tex] x = \frac {1} {M} \int_{a}^{b} m dx[/tex]

(I am imagining a scanner sweeping horizontally through an object X and recording its mass at very small intervals).

However, looking in the textbook, it is expressed as

[tex] x = \frac {1} {M} \int x dm[/tex]

I'm a bit of a beginner as far as calculus goes, but it seems to me that[tex] \int x dm[/tex] is not the same as [tex]\int m dx[/tex].

Looking at the problem geometrically, if you plot m against x, then [tex]\int_{a}^{b} m dx[/tex] will give you an area between the graph of m and the x-axis, whereas [tex]\int_{a}^{b} x dm[/tex] will give you an area between the graph of m and the y-axis.
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2005
  2. jcsd
  3. Dec 31, 2005 #2
    If you imagine a "scanner," as you put it, recording the center of mass (a position!) of each slice, and you add those up, then you get an integral of positions with respect to the mass of the arbitrarily small slice, not the other way around.