Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Centripital force

1. Oct 24, 2008 #1
    hi, I am new to physics and math. This my first year taking a physics course.

We just had a lab done for centripital force, and I really got confused about this. The lab was not for marks, but I am still very confused

I couldn't figure out the relationship between the radius and the Fc, if the speed is always constant

what happens when radius is 0?
    doesn't that produce an infinite calculation?

anyways my graph was very weird, because i could not find a relationship, maybe my data from the experiment was messed up..

and one more thing, is there anything special for its slope?
  2. jcsd
  3. Oct 25, 2008 #2

but for centripetal acceleration,

Thus Fc is inversely propportional to r. Was that what you are unsure about? What were your known values for the practical? What did your linearised equation look like?

Lastly, it's been some time since I watched this, but if I remember, this is Prof Walter Lewin's Lecture on Uniform Circular Motion
  4. Oct 25, 2008 #3
    Looking at the relationship a = v^2 / r you get the immediate impression that the centripetal acceleration is inversely proportional to r. But that is wrong! Remember that v is itself a function of r, and v is in fact directly proportional to r. Therefore, when v is squared, there is an r^2 term in the numerator. It is more clearly seen when you look at the angular definition of centripetal acceleration, which is angular velocity squared multiplied by r. Now you can see that centripetal acceleration is actually directly proportional to r. At the center of the circle, where r is zero, centripetal acceleration is zero.
  5. Oct 25, 2008 #4
    ok so i did some work, and i got this

mv2 = Fc

m(2 pie r)2 = Fc

so final eqn is

(m) (4) (pie2) (r) = Fc