Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

CFD analysis

Tags:
  1. Apr 17, 2012 #1
    I'm looking to do a fluid flow analysis on the recoil mechanism of a howitzer. The analysis will involve simulating oil flowing through some complex orifice profiles. There will be 2 fluids (oil & nitrogen) in different parts of the recoil mechanism.

The results I would like from the analysis are pressure contours, fluid velocity profiles, and hopefully an animation of the recoil mechanism during a firing cycle. I am a student at a university and have access to Solidworks and Ansys software.

If there are any CFD buffs, can I expect to get the results I'm looking for from these software packages? What are the limitations on the academic versions of the software? Which software is the best/most intuitive to use? Are there other software packages that might be better to use for this application?

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 17, 2012 #2

Mech_Engineer

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

The biggest limitation will be in the academic version of ANSYS- I think its models are limited in node count, and what you're proposing will be a very complex coupled problem. It seems to me this kind of problem would take a team of CFD engineers a couple of months to solve with some level of confidence in the results; I'm not sure a student with no CFD experience will be able to do it honestly.

4. Apr 17, 2012 #3
    I know the Ansys academic might not be able to handle the size of problem we are considering. Buying a professional version of Ansys could be an option, depending on what the capabilities are. Can you make animations with Ansys Fluent or CFX?