Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Chain rule for limits

1. Jul 18, 2005 #1
    I would like to prove a chain rule for limits (from which the continuity of the composition of continuous functions will clearly follow): if [tex]\lim_{x\to c} \, g(x)=M[/tex] and [tex]\lim_{x\to M} \, f(x)=L[/tex], then [tex]\lim_{x\to c} \, f(g(x))=L[/tex].

Can someone please tell me if the following proof is correct? I am a complete newbie to writing proofs, so I might have made several basic mistakes.

The second postulate means that there exists a [tex]\delta _1[/tex] for which the following is true for all [tex]x[/tex] in the domain:

[tex]0<|x-M|<\delta _1\Rightarrow |f(x)-L|<\epsilon[/tex]

By substituting [tex]x[/tex] with [tex]g(x)[/tex] we get the following which is true for all [tex]g(x)[/tex] in the domain:

[tex]0<|g(x)-M|<\delta _1\Rightarrow |f(g(x))-L|<\epsilon[/tex]

The first postulate means that there exists a [tex]\delta[/tex] for which the following is true for all [tex]x[/tex] in the domain:

[tex]0<|x-c|<\delta \Rightarrow |g(x)-M|<\delta _1[/tex]

Thus, by transitivity:

[tex]0<|x-c|<\delta \Rightarrow |f(g(x))-L|<\epsilon[/tex]

QED

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 18, 2005 #2

HallsofIvy

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

You meant [tex]0< |f(g(x))-M|[/tex] of course.

It would be better to distinguish between the various "&delta"s: write [tex]\delta_1, \delta_2[/tex], etc.
    Also, it's not clear what "M" is. You started by writing |x-M| which should have been, from your statement of the theorem, c.

4. Jul 18, 2005 #3