What Classes Should I Take to Boost My Chances of Working at Intel?

• Thread starter Nothing000
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Chances
In summary: I work on a team of designers, and my day is basically divided between attending meetings with my team, working on design problems, and thinking about new problems that come up.
Nothing000
Hello all. My dream job is to work at Intel as an Integrated Circuit Engineer.
I am only in my first year of school. What would you guys recommend that I do in order to increase my chances of attaining this dream job? What are the chances that someone who does pretty good at a public university go on to work for Intel?

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Why is working for Intel your dream job? They are notorious for treating their employees badly. There are hundreds of other companies literally miles away who offer the same sort of positions, yet treat their employees like human beings. I have several friends who work for Intel, and they agree that working for Intel is only a few steps behind being in prison.

If you want to do microarchitecture, the obvious path is to get your undergraduate degree in computer or electrical engineering. In your senior years, focus on process-oriented classes like VLSI design, microarchitecture, and semiconductor device physics. Then, do a master's in EE, concentrating again on microarchitecture.

Intel is not the space program. It's not hard to get a job there. Your performance in school is secondary, of course, to your ability to actually do the tasks they need to have done -- just like any other company. If they have a position open, and you get your resume to the right managers, and you're qualified for it, you'll get the job.

- Warren