1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

ChE curriculum Laptop help.

1. Mar 10, 2012 #1
    Hi,

I'm a ChE student at a community college right now doing the transfer program to a 4 year university where I will resume my education as a junior in the Fall 12 semester. I'm thinking that I will need a laptop; I'm not that great with specs and hardware however. So any advice?

I'm trying to keep it at or under $800.
    I've also been looking at the dell xps 14z, but can't find any decent reviews for it.

Thanks.

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 10, 2012 #2

wukunlin

Gold Member

to be honest, i never feel the need for a laptop. The only exception is when you really need to type something up before the assignment deadline or something. But throughout my 3 years of bachelors study i never feel it necessary to have a laptop. There should be enough computer in the university anyway.

Although if you really want one, before giving you any advice, what sort of laptop are you looking for? something to consider are:
    -portability
    -processing power (including, will you need hardware acceleration?)
    -battery life

dell laptops are okay in general. things may be different in the states but over here their after sale services are superb. The hardware itself is a little bulky i find. Also if you really want a dell i would recommend the vostro (typical for small business user) instead of the xps.