1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Chemical Engineering Career Paths - Worth it?

1. Sep 16, 2013 #1
    I am a student at the University of Waterloo, and thinking of transferring into chemical engineering.
    I am very interested in the emerging field of BCI technology (Brain-Computer Interfaces) and would hope that a degree in chemical engineering would eventually get me a job working on a project involving BCIs.

Technology is obviously developing at an increasing rate, and by the time I graduate in 5 years, job markets will likely have changed beyond what they were like when I started my undergrad. I want a degree that is not employable now, but employable 5 years into the future.

^^I know it is very hard to predict the future of job employ-ability, but we can make inferences based on the direction technology is taking us, correct?

I also love nanotechnology, and my school has a nanotechnology engineering discipline, but it is also the hardest program to get into and I do not possess the academic record to grant me access to it. Also, I don't know how employable a nanotech engineering degree is, since it is relatively new.

The brain is obviously a complex chemical system of neurotransmitters, hormones, and electrical signals based on sodium and potassium voltage gradients. I believe that the first real AI systems (if you could call them that) will be a fusion of bio-intelligence with computer technology.