Choose Between Chemistry & Physics for University Studies

In summary, the conversation is about a student who is unsure about what to study in university between physics and chemistry. They are more interested in physics but are worried about the difficulty of the mathematics. They are also curious about the job opportunities in both fields and seek advice on other potential options. The conversation also touches on the differences between studying physics and engineering, the importance of keeping an open mind, and the possibility of taking courses in both fields before making a final decision.
Mwett
Good evening,
I'm a student in my last year of high school and I'm still not sure about what I'd want to study later at University. I'm sure I want to do something with science but I am hesitating between chemistry and physics. I think I'm more interested in physics but am afraid it is going to be too difficult for me (my father advices engineering but I'm more interested in the theory so I guess physics would be better). I find chemistry also interesting but maybe a little less than physics. For both fields I'd like to know the different job you could get after your studies. Maybe some could tell me the major pratical differences between both or advice another field.
Thanks already.

Physics news on Phys.org
People who start studying physics in the university are usually first shocked by the difficulty of the new mathematics they have to learn in uni. In chemistry the mathematical methods are a lot easier. I suggest you try to read some online applied mathematics textbook, like this: http://julianoliver.com/share/free-science-books/essential-engineering-mathematics.pdf , and if the material looks so difficult that you never want to even try learning it, I suggest you choose chemistry instead of physics.

Likes Mwett
hilbert2 said: