1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Chemistry question - help

1. Jun 24, 2005 #1
    Hello everyone.

I came here because I'm having trouble with a chemistry question an you guys seem to know what you're talking about =)

I need to sepearate Ag^+, Ca^2+, and Ni^2+ ions from a solution. each of these is at a 0.1M concentration.

I've never done this type of question before... what method should I be looking in to?

I'm thinking maybe I could form precipitates by adding certain anions.. but I'm not sure which ones, I'm also not sure if order matters or when I should be filtering.

would someone be kind enough to point me in the right direction? :smile:

thanks

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 24, 2005 #2
  4. Jun 24, 2005 #3
    thanks for the link!

1) First remove the Ag+ ions by adding HCl(aq) which will precipitate as AgCl(s)

2) Filter

3) Remove the Ni^2+ ions by adding H2S(aq) which would form a NiH(s} precipitate.

4) filter

5)Remove the Ca^2+ ions by adding (NH_4)_2CO_3 forming a precipitate with ????

6) filter

and the ions are removed.

but what about the fact that I was given .1M concentration for each....am I supposed to have specific amounts that need to be added? or can i just add until the precipitate stops forming?

5. Jun 24, 2005 #4
    altho you are told each metal ion conc = 0.1M, you are not told how much total solution you have to work with. therefore, you can't specify exact reagent amounts to add.

unless you provide your own "example" metal ion solution amount (say 100 ml), you can only specify to add reagent until precip stops (which will be reagent in slight excess of exact amount required).