Choosing a programming language - physics

In summary, if you want to create computer programs for simulating theories as complicated as string theory, C++ may be the language for you.
cyberdeathreaper
If I'm going to attempt creating computer programs for simulating theories as complicated as string theory, what language should I be looking at? I have some experience with C++, but if I'm going to devote a large part of my free time to learning a language, I'd like to learn something that will be specifically useful for what I need. I'm sure this question has probably been asked before, but I didn't find any search results. Thanks in advance.

Computer science news on Phys.org
Many of the physics type people i know, like MATLAB for most simulations. The best thing abt it (according to them) being that you don't have to waste time writing graphics packages. ( Otherwise ofcourse any general software development language like C/C++ or Java should help you, ofcourse the amount of effort will the relatively too much )

-- AI

I concur with that, first do as much as possible scripting in packages such as Matlab, Mathematica - "next level" could be to use subroutine libraries and programming languages in conjunction with general packages such as those 2 above (it's pretty ease to interface stuff), before going all the way and writing from scratch with C++ or any other related language (and in this case picking code from libraries etc. is highly recommendable IMHO, for getting things done as much as getting them working properly - quite a bit of the really "serious software" seems to be written in C++, in "rough" computing fortran still prospers, but would recommend you'd just go deeper with C++ if you've a handle on it).

Thanks for the recommendations. I didn't realize C++ could be used in conjuction with Matlab/Mathematica - do you know of any sources out there that describe how to do it?