Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Choosing a programming language - physics

1. Jul 11, 2005 #1
    If I'm going to attempt creating computer programs for simulating theories as complicated as string theory, what language should I be looking at? I have some experience with C++, but if I'm going to devote a large part of my free time to learning a language, I'd like to learn something that will be specifically useful for what I need. I'm sure this question has probably been asked before, but I didn't find any search results. Thanks in advance.
  2. jcsd
  3. Jul 12, 2005 #2
    Many of the physics type people i know, like matlab for most simulations. The best thing abt it (according to them) being that you dont have to waste time writing graphics packages. ( Otherwise ofcourse any general software development language like C/C++ or Java should help you, ofcourse the amount of effort will the relatively too much )

-- AI
  4. Jul 12, 2005 #3

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

I concur with that, first do as much as possible scripting in packages such as Matlab, Mathematica - "next level" could be to use subroutine libraries and programming languages in conjunction with general packages such as those 2 above (it's pretty ease to interface stuff), before going all the way and writing from scratch with C++ or any other related language (and in this case picking code from libraries etc. is highly recommendable IMHO, for getting things done as much as getting them working properly - quite a bit of the really "serious software" seems to be written in C++, in "rough" computing fortran still prospers, but would recommend you'd just go deeper with C++ if you've a handle on it).
  5. Jul 12, 2005 #4