1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Choosing research dilemma

1. Mar 12, 2009 #1
    i'm in my 4th year in college but will graduate next fall, double majoring in physics and applied math. i'm looking for applied math or mechanical engineering for grad school, probably computational fluid dynamics or heat transfer for ME. i really want to make weapons, missiles, etc for a defense contractor as the technology sounds very interesting (but not necessarily very moral)

i hate experiemnts, and would rather do computation/modeling/simulation. i love my math/physics classes that use paper and pencil

i'm thinking of doing research for this spring quarter and maybe next fall

heres the dilemma:
    1. i've been doing research in biophysics/applied math/fluid dynamics right now. i started about 2 weeks ago. so far, i've just been reading research papers. so far, its pretty boring as its mostly biophysics and not really applied math.

2. i spoke with another prof today about doing reserach in materials science modeling/applied math, and it sounded much more interesting. seems to use some stat mech, which is my favorite part about physics. but the applications are kinda lame: quantum dots, making lasers, etc. not really what i'm looking for.

which one should i choose? i want to do something practical in grad school, and not do something too theoretical. i've found that i dont have a passion for any particular subjects, so i dont want to do something theoretical for a phD, hate it in the middle of it, and then drop out and not find a job

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 12, 2009 #2
    This can be a common issue, where someone likes working for something but its application is lame, disappointing, and far-fetched.