Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Circuit courses for ME

1. Feb 17, 2006 #1
    I am taking second part of the electrical circuit course (diodes, amps, transistors).

I find circuits extremely annoying. For some reason, teachers never spend enough time to explain the circuits. My biggest problem is analyzing the circuits. I am just managing to get through the class, but I don't know much. A good deal of ME's I have talked to are not that fond of circuits also.

I was wondering what you guys think.

How was your experience with circuits? How did you study for your circuit class?
  2. jcsd
  3. Feb 17, 2006 #2

Staff: Mentor

I was a nuclear engineering student with a background in physics. I did the best I could, but I didn't necessarily find the material intuitive. The nuclear engineering program was fairly diverse, so in addition to the core nuclear engineering courses, we were required to take the core ME and EE courses, so we took the same introductory courses as the EE students.

The key to circuits is Kirchhoff's laws (rules) for currents and voltages.

Some examples of cirucits - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Electrical_circuit
    (Wikipedia is a good start, but I recommend other dedicated EE sites).

http://theory.uwinnipeg.ca/physics/curr/node1.html - Kirchhoff's laws

Also we have a homework section Engineering, Computer Science, & Technology - https://www.physicsforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=158 in which one can seek assistance on homework problems.
  4. Feb 21, 2006 #3