Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Circuit Design?

1. May 21, 2008 #1
    I am an EE student and I feel a bit confused right now, thus far I've only taken circuit analysis (nodal/mesh/thevenin/transformers/phasors etc) and one semester of E&M.

I was taking a look at this http://www.ledsales.com.au/kits/nixie_supply.pdf and I know that is explains the function of the circuit in the document, but it's like I would have no idea how to do this if I had to start from scratch. And, I have an old Radio Shack electronics kit and most of the projects in it make me feel really stupid, I would have no idea how to design a circuit from scratch that has the same functionality.

Is there anything I could do to improve my knowledge of circuit design and figure out how circuits actually work? Like in that nixie power supply, if I were just given it and had to determine what it did, I would have no idea what to do.

I have access to the Art of Electronics and Sedra/Smith and a circuit analysis book, but I don't know where to start.

2. jcsd
  3. May 21, 2008 #2

berkeman

Staff: Mentor

How far have you read into the AofE? If you have read it cover-to-cover, you should have a pretty good idea of where to start. You can also check out magazines and websites that have a lot of hobbyist and technical content, like the Circuit Cellar.

http://www.circuitcellar.com/

Start by designing and building simple circuits that do something handy for you, like a clock or a simple audio amp. Opamps are very useful building blocks for analog circuits, so be sure to understand the AofE sections on opamps, and maybe pick up a book on opamp projects and build a couple.