Designing Circuit Boards: Software Packages for Beginners

In summary, a forum user new to electronics and with a background in Mechanical Engineering is seeking advice on software packages for designing and building circuit boards. The recommended software is MultiSim or SPICE, with some open source options available. It is noted that there is no program that can design circuits for you and that design is primarily based on experience and imagination. The user is also directed to various websites and resources for beginner projects and schematics. Other users suggest using pencil and paper, as well as investing in a breadboard and introductory electronics book.
Jones1987
Hi,

New to the forum, I'm currently studying Mechanical Engineering, however me and my flatmate really want to start designing and building circuit boards. I have minimal knowledge when it comes to electronics so there's no time like the present to start learning!

What kind of software packages are out there which are used to 'design' the actual circuits to be made?

Any help upon this topic will be really appreciated and helpful.

Thanks for reading.

Engineering news on Phys.org
Grab a trial version of MultiSim. It's the easiest one out of the lot. The industry standard is SPICE, and I think that you can grab a student version of http://www.electronics-lab.com/downloads/schematic/013/ for free. There are some opensource implementations floating around too.

There is probably no computer program that is going to design circuits for you, although for certain applications, there are design tools that make it easier.
Generally, design is a matter of experience and imagination with some solid theoretical ability.

You might like to have a look through the following sites (taken from the "sticky" threads above). There are hundreds of circuits here and you might find something that you could use or amuse yourself with.

Beginner projects, tutorials, schematics: http://www.hobbyprojects.com/