1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Civil vs Mechanical

1. Aug 12, 2012 #1
    So I'm interested in Environmental Engineering. I am a sophomore, and as of now, I'm interested in green buildings and possibly water resources. But really, I enjoy all things sustainability, and I would also go as far to say that I enjoy designing anything (whether its environmental-related or not). I have only taken Statics and Mechanics 1 so far, but I really enjoyed it, particularly our design projects.

At my school, Civils can concentrate in environmental engineering, but a minor in environmental engineering is open to all majors.

Right now I'm really undecided about whether I should do Civil with a concentration in Environmental, or Mechanical with a minor in Environmental Engineering. I know I like structures a lot now, which is Civil, but I haven't really had any experience in Mechanical stuff to know.

I think if I do a Mechanical major with a Environmental minor, I'll be able to study a little of the structure/environmental stuff that I already like, plus learn some more about mechanics, energy, etc. I think it will make me more employable. However, I don't want employers/possible internships looking for structures/water to write me off, because that's what I'm most interested in. I don't want be "stuck" designing tools or car engines or something. I'm female, and I know that shouldn't be an issue, but I feel very intimidated by the thought of doing something like that, because I never grew up learning "shop" stuff, and I know senior males in that field will not take me seriously. I don't know anything about engines, cars, etc. I just don't want to put myself in that position.