Exploring Interesting Math Topics: A Grade 12 Class Project

In summary, the speakers discuss a grade 12 student who has been given the task of teaching a math class for a day with no restrictions on the topic. They share suggestions such as the Simplex Method, unsolved and recently solved problems in mathematics, and the history and proofs of Hilbert's problems, the 4 color map problem, and other famous problems. There is concern about time constraints, but the student is open to considering these ideas and making a list to choose from.
Parth Dave
I'm a grade 12 student and have been given the task of teaching our algebra and geometry class for a day :smile: . There are absolutely no restrictions on what I can teach about. It does not in any way have to be related to algebra or geometry, just mathematics in general. What I really need is suggestions as to what topic to teach. Heres a brief outline of what we have covered in the course:

Vector Algebra
Lines, Planes
Matrices - Determinants, inverses etc.
Linear Transformations
Translations
Rotations
Proof by Induction
Binomial/Multinomial Theorem
Complex number algebra
Chromatic polynomials
Eigenvalues/Eigenvectors - diagonalization, linear recurrences
Generating Functions
Proof and Cantor Set Theory
Basic graph theory - isomorphism, circuits/paths
Combinations/Permutations
Markov Chains

The idea is for me to teach something interesting and mathematical. The difficulty level isn't too big an issue. As long as the information presented isn't loaded with notation we haven't seen before I'm sure the class can manage. Does anyone have suggestions for what I could teach? (Something that I can learn in a day, since I do have to go teach this on Thursday)

Physics news on Phys.org
How about the Simplex Method?

How about "Unsolved and recently solved problems in Mathematics" ?