1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Class Lesson

1. Jan 11, 2005 #1
    I'm a grade 12 student and have been given the task of teaching our algebra and geometry class for a day :smile: . There are absolutely no restrictions on what I can teach about. It does not in any way have to be related to algebra or geometry, just mathematics in general. What I really need is suggestions as to what topic to teach. Heres a brief outline of what we have covered in the course:

Vector Algebra
    Lines, Planes
    Matrices - Determinants, inverses etc.
    Linear Transformations
    Proof by Induction
    Binomial/Multinomial Theorem
    Complex number algebra
    Chromatic polynomials
    Eigenvalues/Eigenvectors - diagonalization, linear recurrences
    Generating Functions
    Proof and Cantor Set Theory
    Basic graph theory - isomorphism, circuits/paths
    Markov Chains

The idea is for me to teach something interesting and mathematical. The difficulty level isn't too big an issue. As long as the information presented isn't loaded with notation we haven't seen before I'm sure the class can manage. Does anyone have suggestions for what I could teach? (Something that I can learn in a day, since I do have to go teach this on Thursday)
  2. jcsd
  3. Jan 11, 2005 #2
    How about the Simplex Method?
  4. Jan 11, 2005 #3

Homework Helper

How about "Unsolved and recently solved problems in Mathematics" ?