Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Classical music recommendations

1. Jan 21, 2008 #1
    I want some violin and maybe flute. Please recommend me some artists or CDs.

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 22, 2008 #2
    Nigel Kennedy Vivaldi's four seasons :approve:

4. Jan 22, 2008 #3
    Hmm...that's too general. Do you prefer orchestral, chamber or solo works? For flute, I can recommend Mozart's concerto (also the one with Flute and Harp) and the quartets. As for the violin, the repertoire is vast. Some of my favourite works for the violin are Tchaikovsky, Beethoven and Bach's concerti, and also some short fancy pieces like Saint-Saens' Introduction and Rondo Capriciosso, Sarasate's Carmen Fantasy, etc.. These are all works for violin and orchestra. There are tons of violin sonatas (violin and piano) and works for the solo violin, like Bach's sonatas and partitias.

I'm not good with artist recommendations, since I haven't heard many versions enough number of times to give a useful answer.

5. Jan 22, 2008 #4
    The best violin I have heard is 24 caprices by nicolai paganini, paganini violin concertos 1 and 2 and spring by vivaldi.You may also like Fritz Krysler and beethoven's violin concerto.
    All of these are lively and reasonably light pieces.

6. Jan 22, 2008 #5
    Perhaps check out André Rieu

typical example:

Last edited by a moderator: Sep 25, 2014
  7. Jan 22, 2008 #6
  8. Jan 22, 2008 #7
    i like it fast and cutting...sort of like Akim^^

9. Jan 22, 2008 #8
    That's Vivaldi then, the summer in the four seasons

10. Jan 23, 2008 #9

fuzzyfelt

Gold Member

My Mum and I always watch recordings of his performances when we are together. So fun!

11. Jan 23, 2008 #10

fuzzyfelt

Gold Member

Like Brahms violin, 3rd movement?

I like the other suggestions made in this thread, too.

12. Jan 23, 2008 #11