1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Classical projectile problem

1. Apr 14, 2010 #1
    Hi I have a classical projectile problem:

Car moving west at 50mph. If I am south ten miles and wish to his the object with a canon traveling at 500mph
    i) What bearing should I shoot at?
    ii) What pitch?

Thanks
    Jo

2. Relevant equations

for projectile
    x=(Vo cos (Picth)) t
    y=(Vo sin(Pitch)t - 1/2 g (t*t)

3. The attempt at a solution

I got a bearing of 32 degrees (with North as 0 obviously) and a pitch 0f 47 degree.
    Is this correct?

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 15, 2010 #2
    Actually I'm not sure the above is correct, heres my new thinking:

If I use the fact that the x will be the same at collision
    Tank
    x = 50t

Rocket P is the pitch
    x = 500Cos(p)t

so 50t = 500Cos(p)t

Also we can use the fact that on collision y = 0 for the rocket because its hitting the ground so

y = 500Sin(p)t - 1/2g t*t = 0

So we have 2 simultaneous equations and 2 variables.

What do you think?

4. Apr 15, 2010 #3
    I'm not sure what you mean in your question when you say the cannon is travelling at 500mph. Do you mean that this is the speed of the projectile fired from the cannon?
    Also, your measurements are in mph, so are you using g in m/h^2? It might be easier to convert into m/s for velocity, then use 9.81 m/s^2 for g.

5. Apr 15, 2010 #4
    My above calculation is incorrect because the projectile motion X Y are in a different plane. The arc of motion of the cannonball. So I cant equate the X's.
    Yeah they were just given in mph and yes the cannonball speed is 500mph.

6. Apr 15, 2010 #5
    ok, so when you use g for acceleration due to gravity you have to remember to use a figure in m/h^2.