Clockwork Mechanisms Tutorials/Reading

• Thread starter sollinton
  • Start date
In summary, the speaker apologizes for posting in the wrong section and explains their interest in starting a hobby of building clockwork mechanisms. They mention their lack of engineering background and ask for recommendations on reading material to help them get started. They also mention their focus on computer programming and express trust in this forum for engineering topics. They have already tried searching the internet but found the amount of information overwhelming. They thank anyone in advance for their recommendations.
sollinton
First of all I sincerely apologize because I know this is in the wrong section. I was unable to post in the reading material section and this seemed the closest alternative.

I am interested in starting up a hobby of building clockwork mechanisms (clocks, wind-up toys, etc), but as I have no prior engineering background I am in need of some starter material. Unfortunately I am new to the engineering world (my main focus lies in computer programming) and this forum is the only trustworthy forum I know of that incorporates engineering topics.

If anyone knows of any reading material that may help start me off I would greatly appreciate it!

Engineering news on Phys.org
I have already tried searching the internet but I find the amount of information to be rather overwhelming. Thanks in advance!

1. What are clockwork mechanisms and how do they work?

Clockwork mechanisms are mechanical devices that use a series of gears, springs, and other mechanical components to measure and display time. They work by using the energy from a wound-up spring to turn a series of gears, which in turn move the hands of the clock.

2. What are some common types of clockwork mechanisms?