1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Co-efficient of friction HELP

1. Aug 11, 2011 #1
    Co-efficient of friction HELP!!

1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

Hello Im new to physics forums, im looking for some help with my Year 11 Extended Experimental investigation. My investigation is looking at how different surfaces and different ramp heights (inclined planes) affect the stopping distance of a toy car. Im having difficulty finding out what the coefficient of friction is for the different surfaces are. Please Help.
    Note: The ramp is sheet metal and rolls down onto different surfaces eg. carpet, concrete etc..

PLEASE HELP I AM IN DESPERATE NEED

2. Relevant equations

3. The attempt at a solution

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 11, 2011 #2

PeterO

Homework Helper

Re: Co-efficient of friction HELP!!

Is this car rolling? If it is, I suspect the only friction you have is the friction in the "bearings"
    of the wheels - so will be indepenent of the surface - unless you had a surface "soft" enough for the wheels to sink in.

4. Aug 11, 2011 #3

Yes it is rolling, it is just a toy car. What im really trying to determine is the coefficient of friction on the different surfaces which the car is rolling off the ramp onto.

5. Aug 11, 2011 #4

PeterO

Homework Helper

Good Luck!

6. Aug 11, 2011 #5

If you're doing this experimentally on a level surface (not an inclined plane), determining the coefficient of rolling friction is exactly the same as determining any coefficient of friction. (Friction coefficients are approximations anyway.)

The three numbers you need are:
    1. the velocity at which the car begins free motion
    2. the time that it takes the car to stop
    3. the distance of travel (only after release)