1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

College Major Question

1. Feb 8, 2009 #1
    Hello everyone, this is my first time here on this forum and I was just wondering something for a very very long time.

I was accepted into Virginia Military Institute and will be attending this fall '09.

I intend to upon graduation, enter the U.S. Air Force and become a pilot.

However, the main question is the major I should take at VMI. I don't know whether to major in Mechanical Engineering, Physics, or Mathematics.

The pros of majoring in physics at VMI is that there are maybe 4 to 6 people in the entire school majoring in Physics in a class. So I will definitely receive a lot of attention.

However I've been hearing more and more that ME is the major to go since I should know the workings of the airplanes and what not.

Currently I receive easy A's and A+s in my physics and calc bc class.

If anyone can give me some advise that'd be great. Thanks.

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 9, 2009 #2

lisab

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Congrats getting into VMI, and welcome to PF!

The good news is you don't have to decide right away. In the first 1 to 2 years, there's not a lot of difference between the curricula. The paths are similar enough that you can wait a while before deciding.

In the meantime, talk to professors in those departments to get a better idea of what's involved. Or join clubs in those departments. Then you'll have a better idea of what suits you.

4. Feb 10, 2009 #3
    Thanks for the reply.

I was wondering, what is mechanical engineering like as a college major?

5. Feb 11, 2009 #4

MATLABdude

Science Advisor