1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

College Or Trade School?

1. Oct 20, 2007 #1
    Hello,

I'm looking to advance in the world of IT and in need of some expert advise. But let me first tell you a little about myself...

I am a 26 year old student. After completing an Associates program at DeVry, I went for my A+ certification. And I recently completed a Network course at a trade School. Yesterday I became Network+ certified. Eventually I want to get my Masters along with additional certifications (MCSA, Security+, MCSE, CCNA, CCNP)

Which should I go for first?
    Bachelors at College or MCSA certification at a Trade School?

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 20, 2007 #2
    You said you want to get your masters, but masters in what major?

Its easy to get certification's, but its a lot harder to sit down and deal with 4 years of school, taking countless number of lower level courses that you probably think are pointless.

If you plan on working full time or part time while getting your bachelors, the MCSA cert will help you find a job.

What I'm confused on is, you sound like a really hands on person, not liking theory to much, thats why you went to deVry/trade school. You want to learn a trade and apply it, not deal with English courses, history courses, Calc 3, etc. (I'm making this assumption correct me if i'm wrong).

For example, say you want to get your masters in Computer Engineering, and then in grad school focus on Networking, the type of work you would be doing would be the complete opposite of what your doing now.

You wouldn't be doing hands on jobs, you would be doing more design of network systems/hardware.

So you would be over qualified after you get your masters to do the type of hands on work you probably have been doing.