Combination Gates: Understanding NAND & NOR in Physics

• Thread starter Richie Smash
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Combination
In summary, the conversation discusses the topic of combinational logic and the use of logic gates in performing various functions. The speakers share their confusion about the diagrams and truth tables provided in the textbook, particularly in understanding how the inputs and outputs of the gates work together. One speaker suggests thinking of the gates as functions and explains how the truth tables for the OR gate in the diagram can be understood. Another speaker suggests talking through the diagrams to better understand the concept.
Richie Smash
Hello, I'm currently studying physics at the CSEC level in the caribbean, or what would be equivalent to the GCSE level in England I believe, and I've arrived at Logic Gates.

I've gone through the various gates they ask for at this level such as: AND, OR, NAND, NOT and NOR gates.

I believe I understand each of these gates' specific functions, but then the next topic is about combination gates.

My textbook states, ''The use of several or more types of gates together to perform given functions is known as combinational logic.''

They then say NAND and NOR gates are most commonly used in making these combinational gates, and proceed to show diagrams of various NAND and NOR gates connected together, and their respective truth tables, but these diagrams are really confusing me. I don't seem to have a grasp on this topic.
http://uploads.im/MuU7e.jpg
http://uploads.im/YQpDU.jpg

Here are the two images, (I know off site sources are discouraged but I don't know how to attach an image here)

As you can see from these, they have various NAND and NOR together to produce say NOT, AND and OR gates, I just don't see how the truth tables add up, I just don't know what's going on here, does anyone know in detail about this subject?

Engineering news on Phys.org