Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Aerospace Combination Rocket concept

1. May 23, 2010 #1
    I decided to draw this up when the idea came to me just so I could visualize it.
    I am no rocket scientist so I thouhgt I would post the concept and get some feedback:

Attached Files:

2. jcsd
  3. May 23, 2010 #2

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

and you were planning to get the anti-matter from ?
  4. May 23, 2010 #3
    The lack of availability and means of small, light storage for anti-matter is why it is a concept only. I can imagine that at sometime in the future the cost may come down and availability higher to make it feasable.
    What I would like to know is what the probability is that it would, in fact, produce more thrust than a plasma rocket.
  5. May 27, 2010 #4
    No interest in this?
  6. May 27, 2010 #5

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

If you have an (almost) infinite source of energy - like antimatter - it probably doesn't matter (sorry) how efficient your engine is.
  7. May 27, 2010 #6
    What makes it an infinite source of energy?
    It is a finite amount of both matter and anti-matter (relatively limited amount) stored on the craft and used up for propulsion.
    Both are converted to a plasma and then accelerated into the mixing chamber and nozzle.
    I guess I don't understand how much power it would produse using such small amounts of each.
  8. May 27, 2010 #7

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

It's not infinite, but you can see infinity from there.

The space shuttle's main fuel tank hold around 750,000kg of fuel.
    If that was antimatter it would generate 10^23 Joules of energy, equivalent to about 20,000,000,000,000 tons of jet fuel - not infinite but close enough.
  9. May 28, 2010 #8