1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Comp Eng to CS a wise choice,.

1. Oct 28, 2007 #1
    As In my other thread I am currently a computer engineering student, and in junior standing but currently have not taken any EE classes and am only up to

Calc 2
    Linear Algebra
    E & M
    Programming languages.

I am very weak in math and its a really struggle but physics is even harder as the way my school teaches it is horrible. On my first E & M test the average was a 22 and I got an 11. This test was out of 100. Best part teacher will not curve.

My true passion is to work with financial systems, I want to do either IT or design applications like the bloomberg terminal. I don't really enjoy the electrical stuff all to much, but don't want to switch from computer engineering to cs as I feel I will not get the right education and dont want to limit myself.

I have already been in school for 6 semesters and as it stands if I switch to CS I will have 3 more semesters and if I stay in computer engineering I will have 5 more.

I am really starting to like the CS side of things better than the EE side.

since cs is offered at my school by the department of engineering, is it still considered a engineering degree.
  2. jcsd
  3. Oct 29, 2007 #2
    You sound exactly like me,

I'm also a computer science major who switched from CE to CS because I really didn't like the EE part of CE and I also have 3 semesters left starting in the Spring. (Except I did take the higher level maths/physics required by a CE and also some EE courses )

I still get engineering scholarships even though I'm a Comp Sci major but I'm not exactly sure if its considered an engineering degree. I would doubt it.