1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Comp science hw help

1. Sep 6, 2005 #1
    comp science hw help!!!

I have this problem in Data Abstraction and problem solving with C++. Here is the problem. Implement a C++ program that calls a recursive function "compute_exponent". compute_exponent function computes a to the power n, where a is a real number and n is a non-negative integer.

I am new to this class and I have no idea what I am doing but i think I know how to put the function together bbut I have no idea how to get this problem started because we didnt really go over to much in this class but if anyone can help me out a little it would be a very grateful thing lol. So please anyone.

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 6, 2005 #2
    do you know what recursion is?
    is it told how to immplement recursion on the power(exponrent refers to n not to a^n) problem?
    if not do you have an inkling of how you would implement recursion on the power problem.
    if you have done the factorial problem look how you could relate it to the power problem.

lastly do you know C++

I find it funny that you are asked to find recursion method for power rather than factorial. But thats probably because factorial was used at the example.

4. Sep 6, 2005 #3
    could i use the factorial method to do this one and is it a easier way to go??like i said im really new to this and yes i do know how to program in C++.

5. Sep 6, 2005 #4

HallsofIvy

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

No, that's not what he meant. He just meant that finding n! is much more the "standard" recursion exercise.

"Recursion" means that you can call the function itself inside the function.

For the "factorial" problem, you would do this: 0!= 1 by definition. n!= n(n-1)! so we write a function to do exactly that: