1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Programs Comparison of physics masters

1. Aug 4, 2016 #1
    hello everyone,

i am currently a physics undergraduate in europe and i am thinking about possible graduate studies either in usa or europe.i want to study theoretical particle physics(string theory,quantum fileds,cosmpology etc.). my first choice is a phd in usa. but as an alternative i am thinking about a master degree in europe(and then a phd). i have narrowed down my options to some master programmes and i would like your opinions on these programmes. all of these proggrames are considered top-tier (or at least thats what i think) . the programmes are:

-cambridge part 3 (theoretical physics)
    -Oxford Master Course in Mathematical and Theoretical Physics
    -imperial quantum fields and fundamental forces
    -durham M.Sc. in Particles, Strings and Cosmology
    -LMU munich elite master course in theoretical and mathematical physics
    -eth zurich Msci in physics or Msci in high energy physics
    -ecole de lozanne Msci in physics
    -ecole polytechnique high energy physics
    -ecole normale superieure ICPF masters program

i would really appreciate any opinion or thought about the programmes, or any ither programme that you believe that it would be appropriate. what do you suggest?

i would also like to ask two more questions:

as far as i know the first five programmes are only towards theoretical physics. i mean that in these programmes the courses someone must take are like string theory , standard model etc....no labwork...