1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Completely lost but determined (slightly long post)

1. Feb 28, 2012 #1
    Hello, I am new to this forum. I'm sorry in advance if this is the wrong place to post.

I am doing a 2nd year math course where I learn about ordinary differential equations and vector calculus. Quick overview of learning objectives for this course can be found here http://studyat.anu.edu.au/courses/MATH2405;details.html)

My background is that I am a 1st year math/physics undergrad student, last year I took a gap year, so I graduated high school in 2010 but haven't taken a math class since 2009. The math that I have learnt up to is basically a standard high school math education (Full syllabus can be found here for those that want to compare with the MATH2405 http://www.cie.org.uk/qualifications/academic/uppersec/alevel/subject?assdef_id=756)

What do I need to know in order to do well in MATH2405? My other courses are relatively easy, so I can spend most of my time on this. I was told to look at 18.01 (Single Variable Calculus), 18.02 (Multivariable Calculus) and 18.06 (Linear Algebra) from the MIT OCW lectures, but I was wondering if there were other/better resources that would also be useful.

Also, I feel like I gain confidence by spamming problems (and confirming that I get them correct). Are there any places where there are a lot of math problems with answers?

Thanks in advance.

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 28, 2012 #2
    Single variable calculus is usually a prerequisite for ordinary differential equations and multivariable calculus is usually a prerequisite for vector calculus.

Is there any way that you can drop the course and take calculus instead?

4. Feb 28, 2012 #3
    No, but I feel like I can pick it up relatively quickly.