Complex Analysis 2nd Ed. by Stephen D. Fisher: Q&A

In summary, The conversation is about someone studying complex analysis and asking for help with understanding the Variation of Maximum Principle. They discuss the cases of complex-valued and real-valued functions and use the fact that a harmonic function on a domain can be expressed as the sum of another harmonic function and an analytic function in order to prove the statement. The book suggests using the mean-value property to prove the statement.
becu
Hi,
I'm studying complex analysis right now, I would like to use this thread to ask questions when I read books. Many questions will be very stupid, so please bear with me.
Also, English is my second language.

text: Complex Analysis (2nd edition)
author: Stephen D. Fisher

[question deleted] this first question is very stupid. i figured it out. thank you. i will come back for other questions.

Thanks.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Variation of Maximum principle: "If u(x,y) is harmonic and nonconstant on a domain D, then |u(x,y)| has no local maximum in D". the proof of this is left as an exercise. i want to prove it.

case 1: u(x,y) is complex-valued function, then since u is harmonic, it is analytic on D. By the Maximum Modulus Principle, |u| has no local max in D
case 2: u(x,y) is real-valued function, then u has no local max and no local min in D. How do you go from this to |u|?

Thanks.

If u is harmonic on D, then there exist another harmonic function, v(x,y), such that f(z)= u(z)+ iv(z) where z= x+ iy, is analytic on D.

HallsofIvy said:
If u is harmonic on D, then there exist another harmonic function, v(x,y), such that f(z)= u(z)+ iv(z) where z= x+ iy, is analytic on D.

Not true 100%. For example [itex]D=\mathbb{C}\backslash\{0\}[/itex] and [itex]u(z)=\log |z|[/itex].

True! I was assuming a simply connected domain.

HallsofIvy said: