Solving Complex Expressions: 1/z^2 & 1/z^3

In summary, the conversation discusses finding the values of 1/z^2 and 1/z^3, where z=1+2i. One approach is to multiply by the conjugate, but it is also suggested to calculate 1/z first before calculating powers. The conversation also includes a brief discussion on the difference between 1/z^2 and (1/z)^2.
ENGR_student
Hello I'm studying complex numbers for class and the question is stated as:
Let z=1+2i
Find:
a) 1/z^2
b) 1/z^3

I was thinking just to multiply by the conjugate (1-2i)^2 for (a) and similarly for (b).
Would that be correct in solving it?

Physics news on Phys.org
You can do that, right.
Alternatively, calculate 1/z first, and then calculate powers of that.

As this looks like homework, I moved your thread.

Oh thank you!
I apologize if I put it in the wrong thread!

ENGR_student said:
Oh thank you!
I apologize if I put it in the wrong thread!
Firstly, let's establish what you are actually asking.

For example, the way you wrote it, 1/z^2 = [itex]\frac{1}{z^2}[/itex], NOT [itex](\frac{1}{z})^2[/itex]

EDIT: Please ignore. Complete brain-fart by me there! :redface:

Last edited:
oay said:
For example, the way you wrote it, 1/z^2 = [itex]\frac{1}{z^2}[/itex], NOT [itex](\frac{1}{z})^2[/itex]
Where is the difference?

mfb said:
Where is the difference?
Thanks. I simply cannot believe what I wrote in my previous post.

I blame lack of sleep...:zzz:

Surely there must be some way to completely delete a post so that those of us who post a really stupid idea can pretend it never happened!?

What is the definition of a complex expression?

A complex expression is a mathematical expression that includes both real and imaginary numbers. It can involve multiple operations such as addition, subtraction, multiplication, and division.

How do you simplify complex expressions?