1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Complex Logarithm and advanced Math Questions

1. Aug 21, 2011 #1
    Hello

I am currently studying Math B in high school and am having an extremely hard time with my current assessment. If anyone could please help me with the equations listed below it would be very much appreciated as my current Math teacher is on long service leave, and our substitute is practically teacher herself at the same time as teaching our class.

Equation 1:

Log 50 - 2 Log 5 - Log 2

Equation 2:

Log (x-3) = 1 + Log 4 - Log x

Equation 3:

2-4a + 2 x 2-2a - 8 = 0

Equation 4:

Without using calculator, find the value of A that makes x = e^12 / 1-2e^12 a solution of the equation:

ln x - ln (ax+1) = 12

I have attempted the first few on my own, how ever have not found the correct answer when checked against that of my calculator. They are listed below

Equation 1:

y=Log 50 - 2 Log 5 - Log 2
    = 2 Log (50/5/2)
    = 2 Log 5

Answer should be in Index form however I cannot make this into index form

I'm sorry for such a long post, and dont expect to be given the questions directly, however any help would be appreciated, even if it just pointing me in the right direction or explaining how to complete them. I'm very grateful for any help you may provide

Thankyou

Jake

Last edited: Aug 21, 2011
  2. jcsd
  3. Aug 21, 2011 #2

Dick

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Now what rules did you use to change Log 50 - 2 Log 5 - Log 2 into 2 Log 5? Can you spell it out?

4. Aug 21, 2011 #3
    i believe i used the law

Loga xy = loga x + logay