1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Computational Physics. Where to start?

1. Jan 27, 2016 #1
    Hi. I am interested in Computational Physics. I am a third year undergrad student and while I do like Physics in general, I am more attracted by the mathematical and computational part of it. How do I go about learning what's the field of Comp. Physics like? Where do I start? I do know some Python, C++ and Matlab but I would call my skills as low-intermediate at best.

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 27, 2016 #2

jedishrfu

Staff: Mentor

Last edited by a moderator: May 7, 2017
  4. Jan 27, 2016 #3

ZapperZ

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

1. Where in the world ARE you?

2. What are you majoring in now?

3. If you are in a US institution, are you a member of your local chapter of SPS? If not, are you a student member of the APS?

4. If you are, are you aware of the Division of Computational Physics under the APS? If yes, have you looked there?

5. Have you asked your advisor/professor at your own school?

6. Are you planning on pursuing a graduate education after your undergraduate degree? Where might that be?

7. Are you aware of any computational physics journals, and have you looked at any of them?

8. And finally, have you done a Google search? If you did, you would have come across this article in the top 5 results. Did you read it?

Zz.

5. Jan 27, 2016 #4