1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Computational Systems Biology?

1. May 8, 2014 #1
    I was wondering what are the general opinions on the field? I am a freshman physics major planning to switch to this major. I can basically pursue an emphasis on neurosystems, CS, molecular biology or bioinformatics. If I do end up majoring in CSB, I will probably double major with math or applied math. Would it still be possible to get into good graduate programs for engineering(EE/CS/BioE or even MechE?) Or would it be better to play it safe with a physics major? Any advice is much appreciated.

2. jcsd
  3. May 8, 2014 #2
    This sounds just like UCLA's program. Is it? If so, it looks like a very interesting program. You get a mixture of programming, engineering and math classes. You will also have a dose of chem, bio and organic chemistry. I am interested in hearing more of what others have to say. I suggest you inform others a little more of the curriculum, so they have an idea if it will prepare you or not.

4. May 8, 2014 #3

jedishrfu

Staff: Mentor

This is an emerging and very exciting field. It may be difficult at first to find a job because of its cross-disciplinary and specialized nature. However, I would go for it but ultimately the decision is yours to make.

5. May 8, 2014 #4