1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Computer Engineering vs Mechanical Engineering (and Electrical Engineering maybe)

1. Jan 3, 2013 #1
    I'm a student from foreign country.
    Because of that, AP Physics C (Mechanics Part, same as Physics I in college) is the first and only physics I can take in high school.
    Even with my limited English skill, I got an A last semester in AP Physics C class and understand the concepts pretty well.
    Calculus BC, which is Calculus I and II, isn't too hard for me. Just doing homework everyday and get an A.

Since I'm new to the country, I don't really know how to distinguish the three majors listed on the title.

Can someone recommend what major I should choose?

I love computer, but the bad part is that I only know some basic stuff like Word, Excel at this moment (SENIOR YEAR). Otherwise, I know nothing about those C, C++, Java, etc...
    If I want to major in Computer engineering, will it possible for me achieve my goal? (without any knowledge about those strange computer language, but with the love of Physics).
    Do professors teach the Computer Engineering students from basics to advanced stuff? Or They're supposed to know some background before stepping in the class?

Or I can major in Mechanical Engineering since I kind of like my AP Physics C class too.

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 3, 2013 #2
    your first 2 years of college for either major will be largely the same, so you don't have to make the decision right now. Try both and see what you prefer

4. Jan 4, 2013 #3

MarneMath

Education Advisor