1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Computing Jerk in 2D Space

1. Jan 29, 2015 #1
    Hi everyone,

I am a graduate student in psychology and am working on a research project where I am trying to derive the kinematics of a mouse tracking task. I am currently writing a MATLAB script to do this, and I believe my equations for velocity and acceleration are correct, but I have very little background in physics/calculus and am having difficulty computing the 3rd derivative of position, jerk. I know this forum is for highschool/undergraduate level students, but I believe this question is too simple to post in the other forum.

1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

I have calculated the euclidean distances between all xy samples and determined the sum of the euclidean distances to determine displacement for the entire movement and the displacement between each pair of xy coordinates.

With displacement:
    I have calculated the average velocity with the formula "sum of euclidean distance/total time of movement.

I have calculated the velocity profile using the the euclidean distances between each pair of xy coordinates divided by the sample rate (the time between each sample, so .5ms).
    In regards to calculating acceleration, I have used the same formulas as above, but replaced displacement with velocity (the rate of change of velocity)

However, in regards to jerk (the rate of change of acceleration), I am trying to make sure I am calculating this correctly. I keep finding different formulas, but I am not certain all of them apply to 2D kinematics. If jerk is the rate of change of acceleration, am I wrong in thinking it can be calculated by acceleration divided by the time between each xy coordinate pairs?