Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

COMSOL help

1. Jan 4, 2008 #1
    Hi everybody, newbie here...

im doing a modelling work with comsol and have a problem of solving using navier-stoke equation for the boundary. is it possible to discretize the boundary condition into several parts and apply different condition in each segment?

thank you beforehand,

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 4, 2008 #2

mda

I have never tried NS but I am familiar with the COMSOL environment.
    You can definitely apply different BC to different physical boundaries.
    Reading between the lines I take it that you have a smooth boundary that you wish to divide?
    This is done at the drawing stage, e.g. if you have a rectangular plane you can divide it using lines.

I'm curious about your reasons for doing this... normally if this was part of your problem specification you would have done this at the beginning.

4. Jan 5, 2008 #3
    thank you, i am doing modelling of biofilm growth on a rough surface which is influenced by hydrodynamic stress. I am using comsol 3.3 script, it is more comfortable than using comsol multiphysics

thank you

5. Feb 21, 2009 #4
    Hi everyone... i am new user of COMSOL multiphysics... I have to model the heat transfer between an electromeagnetic wave and solid material.... ie i have to get a model to explain hw an em wave is used to heat up a material...can anyone help me in doin this....

6. Feb 21, 2009 #5

Gokul43201

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Please describe the experimental setup completely.

7. Feb 21, 2009 #6
    Hi gokul...actually i want to model the energy coupling between a electromagnetic source and solid material...

8. Feb 21, 2009 #7