Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Concept of entropy.

1. Nov 11, 2008 #1
    concept of "entropy."

Hey, I am new to this concept of "entropy." And my book talks about it in terms of "the ways you can arrange something, more arrangements = more entropy."

So, why is the molar entropy of Helium gas higher than that of Argon gas? There are the same number of particles. Shouldn't there be the same number of arrangements possible?

Ok, I don't think I actually understand entropy, some help please? :P
  2. jcsd
  3. Nov 11, 2008 #2

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

Re: Entropy

Hi psychedelia, welcome to PF. Can you cite your reference? The reference I'm using has a slightly higher entropy for argon, 59.8 J/mol-K vs. 54.4 J/mol-K.
  4. Nov 11, 2008 #3

Andrew Mason

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

The entropy of a gas at Standard Temp/Pressure (STP) is a theoretical number that is supposed to represent the integral of dQ/T for one mole of the substance in going from absolute 0 K to 273 K. Since dQ is the molar heat capacity multiplied by the change in temperature, the entropy of a gas at STP is:

[tex]S = \int_0^{273} \frac{C_pdt}{T}[/tex]

The problem is that Cp will change as temperature changes. For example, when the gas changes state from a solid to a liquid and from a liquid to a gas, one has to take into account the latent heats of fusion and vaporisation. These are different for each substance. There is not necessarily any relationship between atomic number and entropy.

5. Nov 12, 2008 #4

Thanks for the replies. =)

Yeah, sorry about that. Helium's S is higher than Argon's. Similarly, Fluorine's S is lower than Chlorine's.
    And S of
    Methane < Ethane < Propane
    Why is that?