Concerning Bioinformatics and Pearl (PERL)

In summary, the conversation discussed the programming languages Pearl and R in relation to bioinformatics. The speaker expressed an interest in learning Pearl but wondered if there were better or more popular options. Another speaker mentioned that they had no experience with bioinformatics but had heard of R being commonly used. They also mentioned that reusing code may be easier with R due to its widespread use in the field.
moriheru
greetings,
I heard of Pearl and intend on learning it, yet I do have a question:
are there any better programming languages than pearl or more used and popular?

Biology news on Phys.org
I always hear about R when I hear about bioinformatics, but I have no experience with it, I'm more of a MATLAB guy (braces for python assault).

There is such a language as "Pearl", but I would bet that you mean "PERL".
I have not programmed in biometrics, so my advice is limited. Here is an short article by someone who has:http://www.molecularecologist.com/2012/11/a-comparison-of-bioinformatics-programming-languages/

The one thing that is not mentioned in that article is reusing code. If "R" is a language that is commonly used for informatics applications, then it might make sense to go with that one first - since you may very well be able to borrow "R" algorithms from public sources.

1. What is bioinformatics?

Bioinformatics is an interdisciplinary field that combines biology, computer science, and statistics to analyze and interpret biological data, particularly DNA and protein sequences. It involves the use of various computational tools and techniques to understand biological processes and systems.

2. What is Perl in the context of bioinformatics?