Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Conductivity, altered by a magnetic field?

1. Aug 5, 2003 #1
    Conductivity, altered by a magnetic field???

Im a highschool student studying physics.

I conducted an experiment that measured the conductivity of KCl electrolytic solution vs. a change in concentration.

Anyway, i had a magnetic stirrer stirring the solution in a beaker when the conductivity probe from a EDT Series 3 RE387Tx Conductivity meter was inserted to take a reading.

Now the question is,
    Does the magnetic field created by the magnetic stirrer also affect the Current flowing between the conductivity meters electrodes and therefore the CONDUCTIVITY!?
    (plz say no ! )

PS: The conductity meter puts a small amount of AC through the solution.
  2. jcsd
  3. Aug 5, 2003 #2

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

My bet would be yes. Sorry! :)

The rotating magnet also creates a AC field, it is not clear how the conductivity meter would separate contributions due to the field it generates vs that created by the rotating magnet.

I am currently working on a process which uses conductivity to control the concentration of a chemical (TMAH), we have found that when our heaters are on we have a higher conductivity reading. So you are not alone in being messed up by outside effects on conductivity.
  4. Aug 6, 2003 #3

Chi Meson

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Since the magnetic stirrer is rotating, it would create an ac potential in the solution, but I would think that the frequency of rotation of the stirrer would have to be synchronized with the conductivity tester in order to produce a steady reading.

Am I wrong here?