Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Confusion - our saving grace?

1. Jul 27, 2004 #1
    Hi guys I just wanted to throw an idea into the ring for you to tear to shreads if so inclined.

The idea being that one of the most important functions of the mind is to deal with confusion.

The main distinction that sets a computer (binary system) from a human mind ( a trinary system??) is that we have the ability to be confused and yet continue to think through this confusion.

A computer will hang when confused but a mind will keep on thinking.

Care to discuss?

BTW I have limited knowledge of terminology so I would rather read your posts than mine...... :D
  2. jcsd
  3. Jul 27, 2004 #2
    while this is somewhat correct, don't be fooled. the human mind, when confronted with something it can in no sense relate, it will be very confused and either try to refute it, or will store it as a totally isolated event... (this quite rarely happens, but really, it would take the brain quite alot of processing to get it right, it might not even get it rigth at all)...
    a large part of the effectiveness of the human mind comes from it's ability to learn concepts and charactaristica... it can gather characteristics and apply them to something it sees in order to understand it... computers don't have this ability...
    anyway, the main reason computers keeps on thinking, is because they are highly linear... this means that it follows a road with one single track that is pointed out to it, and if it reaches an obstacle, it can't get any further unless it's already got a solution to getting across the obstacle...