Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Connections and Curvature

1. Feb 7, 2007 #1
    Hi folks. I am a mathematician and my research
    is on the curvature equation

D(\gamma) = F

where \gamma is a Lie-algebra valued one-form and F is a Lie-algebra-valued 2-form.

I want a very
    rough idea how fiber bundles and associated vector
    bundles are used in physics. I've tried to read up on it, but most
    of the stuff is too technical and I
    just want sort of a bird's eye view of how they are used.

More specifically, I'd like to know if you guys ever look at vector bundles whose structure group is Nilpotent. The problem I am working on is when the base manifold is dimension 3 and the structure group is nilpotent.

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 8, 2007 #2
    Do you mean 'Nakahara : Geometry, Topology, and Physics' instead? I'm guessing the likelyhood of two such similarly named authors and books is unlikely ;) Excellent recommendation though. I'm trying to work through the bundle chapters at the moment :cry:

4. Feb 11, 2007 #3
    Hi Chris.

I have read Frankel's book (or rather, parts of it). It's not too technical, but it is confusing and still doesn't really answer my question about how nilpotent structure groups are used.

I got your email that you replied to this posting, but I could not read most of it - there was just a lot of junk with html code in it. Could you reply in the forum here or email me directly?

Thanks a lot for replying - nobody else has :cry:

5. Feb 11, 2007 #4
    Not sure if this is of any help, but this is a brief summary of my understanding of how things work in one application of fibre bundles: