Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Conservation of linear momentum

1. Jan 17, 2005 #1
    I've stupidly told a friend that I am good at physics, but I am really not. He's set me a question that he wants answering, with an equation. The question is

How fast does a car have to be travelling to hurtle a cow 30feet (10metres) down a road?!

Sounds stupid I know, but any help you could give me would be greatly appreciated!

Last edited by a moderator: Jan 7, 2014
  2. jcsd
  3. Jan 17, 2005 #2

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Do you know what the conservation of linear momentum is?

- Warren
  4. Jan 17, 2005 #3
    I'm afraid Im a complete novice. I left school with no qualifications and I work selling pizzas.. Thats why I need your help. Please help.
  5. Jan 17, 2005 #4
    wouldn't the weight of the cow be needed?
  6. Jan 17, 2005 #5
    average weight of the cow is 700kg
  7. Jan 17, 2005 #6
    and the car weighs 1500kg if that helps
  8. Jan 17, 2005 #7

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Well, apparently you can think of a cow as being roughly a third of the weight of a car. (A cow's about 1,000 lbs, and a car's about 3,000 lbs).

This means that the cow's velocity after impact is going to be roughly 3/2 of the car's initial velocity. If the car is going 30 mph, the cow will start off going about 45 mph. You can see this by typing some numbers into the calculator here:

The difficulty with this problem is that it's not well-specified. Does the cow fly through the air for those 30 feet, or does it scrape along the road? What is the coefficient of friction between cow and asphalt?

This isn't really a question that can be met with a precise, specific answer, but you can explain to your friend the thought process involved.

- Warren
  9. Jan 17, 2005 #8

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member